State New Markets Tax Credits

Recognizing the success of the federal program, some states have adopted legislation establishing state new markets tax credits.

Among the states that offer new markets tax credits to encourage investments in qualified low-income communities are Florida, Illinois, Louisiana, Mississippi, and Missouri.

These new markets tax credit programs tend to have varying eligibility requirements and restrictions from state to state.